The ‘Then and Now’


My first idea in this project was to gather as many photographs from my childhood as I could and to re-create them now, in the exact places and the exact time of day. Creating a sort of time warp for me. It was a simple task that proved difficult to find the correct positions and expressions.

It was the artist Irina Werning (Sony Award Portrait Prize winner) that inspired me to recreate these images with her exhibition of photographs that showed various people then and now. From the moment I saw her work in London, I wanted to give it a go myself.

However one thing I set apart from Irina Werning is that in my photographic recreations, I wanted the change to be seen quite easily. As you can see, they have different clothes and hair. All that remains is the same position and expression.

Werning writes this about her work;

 I love old photos. I admit being a nosey photographer. As soon as I step into someone else’s house, I start sniffing for them. Most of us are fascinated by their retro look but to me, it’s imagining how people would feel and look like if they were to reenact them today… Two years ago, I decided to actually do this. So, with my camera, I started inviting people to go back to their future..”

Johanes 1994 & 2011 Hamburg 

One of the main reasons I find her work so fascinating, is the spot the difference game that the images play on my gaze. Fleeting from one side to the other, viewing in seconds how the person has changed physically over the years. The images are extremely well done, she copies tones, colours and even creases and marks on the photographs.

Andy 1967 & 2011 Los Angeles

Photographs and quote reference:

Werning, I. ‘Back to the Future’ http://irinawerning.com/index.php?/bttf2/back-to-the-future-2-2011/%5B5th May 2012]

7 thoughts on “The ‘Then and Now’

    • Thanks for your feedback! Its so nice to hear back from people reading my blog. I am doing this blog to accompany my sketchbook at my university course (photography) so its fabulous to see people responding! 🙂
      xx

  1. Hello! I simply would like to give an enormous thumbs up for the good data you’ve right here on this post. I shall be coming again to your weblog for extra soon.

Leave a Reply

