Bill Brandt and Studio Lighting

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To explore my topic of memory further I am planning on projecting images of family slide film onto my body, and to plan the direction of the projector, I am looking at Bill Brandt with his high contrast studio lighting.

My photograph, attempting to copy the lighting of the photograph by Bill Brant, below. Although I successfully recreated the contrast, I think I should have used paper around the spotlight to shield the hair from view.

Photograph taken from : http://www.artlimited.net/picbase/news/artlimited_img52942.jpg

chi·a·ro·scu·ro – Chiaroscuro

Noun:
  1. The treatment of light and shade in drawing and painting.
  2. An effect of contrasted light and shadow created by light falling unevenly or from a particular direction on something.

Example of Chiaroscuro taken from:  http://www.digital-forums.com/showthread.php/485725-Dreams-of-Dark-and-Light-Chiaroscuro-and-Rembrandt-Lighting

My own image of Leon, taken in the studio.

5 thoughts on “Bill Brandt and Studio Lighting

  1. Pingback: Brandt bill | Kimberlydaly

Leave a Reply

