Bedrooms

In contrast to my recent family portraiture, I have taken a few digital shoots of their bedrooms. I have chosen to take an outsider approach to this shoot. Laying out clothes, but taking the person out of the place. I hoped to achieve a disconnected feeling much like ‘the light is on, but nobody is home’, like a ghost town, where everything has been left in a hurry. This, I hope, will reflect on my ideas of memory, in the fact that the bedrooms hold a feeling of the person, their clothes, their routines, the things they discard. It is a portrait of them, in a completely ‘subject’ manner.

There is no glamour in these photographs, I took them all without them knowing when they were out as I didn’t want them to tidy up or re-arrange in any way. I wanted the bedrooms to be natural and above all, truthful.

                                    

                                           

                                    

Leave a Reply

