Lighting and Tears

I have chosen to experiment with my china dolls at home. I have made a studio at home using a white board and a lamp, with my camera on a tripod and a pipette to make tears on the dolls faces.

The reason I chose to make these dolls cry, is that to me, when I was taking photographs of them in the studio, they looked so life like; like little girls, so fragile and delicate. To me these dolls represent the child inside me, naive and sensitive to the outside world.

I began with testing the lighting, and seeing how the picture looked with different angles. Once I had found the angle that felt right for the tears, I started to take photographs of them, using a long exposure.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

