Making my Punch and Judy Theatre

I have completed work on my theatre!

I plan on showing the animation on a television, which will be inside a Punch and Judy theatre. I think the Punch and Judy theme, with its heritage and stature in our ‘English seaside holiday’, it would be a perfect way to show the final animation!

I first made the box, which was cut and screwed together. Then I primed the wood, and painted it with bright pillarbox red gloss paint. After a couple of coats, I then decorated it with gold and black paint, as well as using a ‘Fleur de Lis’ stencil, of which has been used for hundreds of years, as a decorative embellishment, as well as representing usually three connected things, such as; female, spirituality, virtue or working, fighting, praying. For me, it is a symbol of Past, Present, and Future – Toys from the past, Together in the present, Dreams for the future. But it also represents the coming together of three art forms – Photography, Animation and Music, bound to each other, in an installation.

I then screwed on the legs, and made the skirting and curtains, using a staple gun and glue gun. Below, is a few photographs taken during the process of making the theatre.

Screen Shot 2013-05-23 at 13.29.35

Screen Shot 2013-05-23 at 13.29.52

Screen Shot 2013-05-23 at 13.30.01

Screen Shot 2013-05-24 at 08.51.12

Leave a Reply

